Organized? Not so much

Organized is not something that I generally am, at least when it comes to physical objects.  As far as knitting goes, I tend to have yarn near where I spend my time – at the computer.  So there are usually some bits of yarn on the desk and some on the bookcase behind it.  And in various knitting bags.

I am a little organized in one case – I have my circular needles in a fishing tackle case and I actually put quite a few of them in it at any one time.  There are always a few sitting around loose, but more are filed in pockets by size.  It’s very helpful when I need more needles.

Thanks to Ravelry, though, I am pretty organized in the history of my knitting projects.  I joined Ravelry in September of 2007.  I currently have 134 projects on Ravelry, 5 frogged, 7 hibernating, 13 in progress and the rest finished.  I don’t always put a project on Ravelry right away, but I do create a project once I’m pretty convinced that I’m going to continue it.  I’ve been trying to declare projects as hibernating when I’m not really working on them any more, but this review shows there are several more that should be switched from in progress to hibernating.  I generally put quite a bit of information in my notes, and I find it extremely useful to go back to.

One of my in progress projects is a Herbivore I’m knitting in Arial in one of the colorways from Meg’s last club called Dazzle.  I can’t capture the colors well, but this shot does at least give some notion of the subtle color gradations in this colorway.

I’ve made further progress since that shot – I’m beginning the light blue showing on the outside of that ball – and I’m just loving it!  Pretty soon, I should get that done.  I’m really looking forward to seeing how it works out.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Organized? Not so much

  1. abigail says:

    beautiful herbivore!

  2. Sarah says:

    Oh…Arial is such a purty!!! Great progress, Anne.

    Like you, I am much more organized with the help of Ravelry and blogging. It actually helps my thought processing too whenever I spend the time to photograph, document or what not. The one major benefit of being organized is when reflecting what I’ve done/learned in the past, it is all there.

  3. Laurie says:

    I love Ravelry, too, but I recently started keeping a written log of my knitting in progress. A oncology nurse (who documents everything!) in my knitting group showed me hers, and I was inspired to start my own.

    I think your Herbivore is the most beautiful I’ve ever seen!

Leave a Reply

