Socks to Keep

In February of 2008 I knit a pair of socks that I was really looking forward to making.  I had made a swatch for my daughter Meg of Twisted Fiber Art in this colorway and pattern and decided I really wanted to have a pair of socks after this model.  As I knit these socks, I wrote down the pattern and it was published in March of 2008 as Show-off Stranded Socks (Rav link).  Since then, there have been 461 other pairs of these socks knitted and recorded on Ravelry.  So this is, by my lights, an extremely successful pattern.

And the socks themselves – I love them.  Here’s a photo:

If you look closely at that picture, you’ll see that the gussets on these socks are a bit different from the standard style.  Also, I knit different patterns in the gussets of the two socks, because I wanted to offer choices and thought it would be good to have photos of the various choices.  The socks still feel lovely and look very fresh.  They’re among my favorite socks.

A couple of years ago, Meg and I made a trip to Columbus, Ohio, to attend TNNA.  We stayed in a nice hotel and had a most interesting and busy trip.  When I unpacked after I got home, I discovered to my horror that my Stranded Teacake socks were missing. I was horrified.  Any pair of handknit socks would be a huge loss, but this particular pair was one I really didn’t want to lose.  So I phoned the hotel – which is the sort of thing I really, really hate doing.  I was delighted to hear that they knew exactly what I was talking about and would mail them to me as soon as I sent them enough money for postage, and they’d even accept the money electronically.  Within a surprisingly short period of time, my socks and I were reunited.  I’m glad every time I wear them that I went to the trouble of getting them back!

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Knitting, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Socks to Keep

  1. Sarah says:

    I like the gusset on the right best…it makes the surrounding textured stitches stands out beautifully.

    Oh mine…what a scare. Glad they found their way back to you, Anne. On the hotel end, I am appalled that they would ask for postage before sending the socks back. I dealt with hotels for years at my corporate life, this is just not common practice/courtesy. Bad choice at its end!

  2. Helen says:

    I’ve made these three times (although with a short row heel) and I love all three pairs – thanks for the pattern!

  3. Laurie says:

    We’re nice like that here in Columbus. ;-) But I also had a similar experience after I left a beloved cardigan (not handknit, but still beloved) in a hotel room in Toronto, however, they didn’t ask me to pay for shipping it back.

    I went to add those socks to my queue and…surprise…they’re already there! Your projects and Meg’s yarns are always so inspiring.

Leave a Reply

