Embellishments (Wildcard)

I don’t have any thoughts on today’s Blog Week topic, which is what you plan to learn / accomplish in the next year.  Instead, I’m choosing another topic which I don’t have too much to say about, but at least something.  What embellishment have I done?  Not very much (unless you count the beads and I already used that for something else) except for the occasional attachment of some flowers, etc.

I have two examples to offer.  First of all, I made a hat for Hazel for Christmas out of the Octarine colorway.  I chose to make it top down, starting with the yellow-green of the Evolution.  The other end of the colorway is pink, and partway through the knitting I decided that I wanted to make some flowers in that color.  Which I did – here’s a shot that shows the flowers pretty well.

I love how that came out.

Another project with an embellishment is a doll outfit I made which also includes a hat with embellishment.   Here it is:

This remarkable little doll is only about six inches tall, and she’s “Earth Mother” shaped.  Here’s a picture of her in a bathing suit to show that, so that you will understand why the coat makes her “look fat” – I don’t really think it’s out of scale.

So that’s my experiment in embellishment.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Dolls, Grandchildren, Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Embellishments (Wildcard)

  1. Sarah says:

    I love embellishment inspired by nature. Yours are well done. And you already know how much I love Hazel’s hat and your priceless doll collection.

  2. Lori says:

    haha! I’m “earth mother shaped” too! i love that. and hazel looks great in that hat — the flowers are just the right touch.

  3. Laurie says:

    Lovely (as always!) picture of Hazel. I really like that greeny-browny yarn on the Mother Earth doll.

    Part of me is interesting in learning embellishments…part of me says, “Nah, just go cast on another shawl.” LOL!

Leave a Reply

