Herbivore and Ziprelaxagon

I am going for interesting pattern names, apparently.  My Herbivore in Dazzle Arial is now blocked and I have been wearing it around some.  As always, I haven’t come up with great ways to arrange it, but some aren’t too bad.  I messed around with a feature in Adobe Photoshop Elements that apparently I’d been misusing before, and I came up with this floating Herbivore shot.

Next I just need to figure out how to give it a background.  But as is you can get an idea of one way it can be worn.  And here’s an actual modeled shot:

I look pretty bad, but the shawl looks cool this way, I think.  The multiple triangles do add to the interest once you can get it arranged well, anyhow.  I hope to see whether Meg can come up with some good ways to wear it.

And I’ve also finished the first of the Ziprelaxagons.  Since I have two balls of yarn (either of which is big enough to make the pair, probably) I felt fine to go ahead and do the cuff now.  So here are some shots of the sock modeled.  First the bottom of the sock.  This shot used flash – there were problems both ways.  You can see how smoothly the sock conforms to the foot.

Here is a non-flash shot of the side of the sock.

This shot was originally way too dark, and lightening it gives some inaccuracy, but not all that much.  I think this shows the shaping quite well.

I love this pattern.  It’s fun and different, and it fits so well!  The details in the pattern are just amazing.  Thanks for the great job, Kirsten!

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Knitting, Shawls, Socks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Herbivore and Ziprelaxagon

  1. Sarah says:

    I believe your dazzling Herbivore looks great whichever way you decide to wear it. It’s just stunning. Terrific choice all around, Anne.

    As said before, I love how your Ziprelaxagon turned out. Mine feels great wearing around the house. It’s too thick to fit in my clogs. I don’t typically wear socks out unless it gets to subzero LOL It’s also one of the reasons I don’t knit gazillion pairs of socks. But, when I do, I love them and wonder why I don’t wear/knit more of them :D

  2. Kirsten says:

    Thanks for trying the pattern, Anne!
    I need to learn more about Photoshop myself. I have Elements, and I can do a few things, but it feels very trial and error to me. My daughter knows much more and I need to get her to teach me.

  3. Laurie says:

    I think Herbivore is one of those shawls that always looks better being worn for some reason…just more interesting to me. I like the “floating” photo, too. And the socks…love the name, especially!

  4. Kara Hoover says:

    I love the way the color changes look on the Herbivore. This would brighten up any plain color outfit. I bet you get a lot of compliments on it. My MIL always comments on me wearing too much black, grey and dark brown but I figure I brighten things up with bright scarves/shawls and socks.

Leave a Reply

