Another Shawl and a Pair of Socks

Around April 5, I finished a pair of socks for Meg with one of the colorways from her last club called Intrigue.  This delicate colorway contains pink and a lovely pale denim blue.  This pair of socks has two texture patterns, sand stitch and moss stitch.  The stitch pattern changes when the color changes, and the pairing of stitch with color is reversed in the two socks.  Here is a picture of the pair.  (I always feel that a photo of the pair is necessary to prove that I really did make it through the second sock.)

The difference in the pattern stitches was probably not as dramatic as it should have been – the contrast really doesn’t show up any better in real life than in this photo.

Late last week, I finished knitting my second Daybreak, which I find by looking at Ravelry was started early last July.  This is made from some yarn that (for once) was not dyed by my daughter Meg (of Twisted Fiber Art).  This was yarn we picked up in Columbus at Knitters Connection.  It was dyed by Kimber of Fiber Optic in her Merino / Cashmere / Nylon blend yarn.  We picked it up to try out when Meg was still deciding whether or not to carry it.  (She does – it comes in fingering weight, called Tasty, and heavier, somewhere between sport and worsted, called Yummy.  I love it.)  The colors of the Fiber Optic yarn are just delicious.  I made a pair of socks for myself in the yarn which I managed to finish in about ten days – here’s how the socks look.

I started this Daybreak, the second I’ve made, just after I finished the socks (in July, as I mentioned above) and I finished knitting it last week.  Then this week I actually blocked it.  And here’s how it looks on me.

I find that I enjoy this style of wearing it quite a bit – again, it stays put.  Here’s another way I tried that isn’t too bad.

I don’t know that it would stay in that configuration, but I do think it looks elegant.  The shawl was really designed for Meg.  Hopefully she will want it.  She has a real talent for wearing shawls in interesting ways, and I hope this one will inspire her.  At her request, I added one additional increase line on each end to the pattern – I haven’t had an opportunity for her to try it out yet.

Next post I will show you two socks, one for Meg and one for me, that I have started recently.  I think both of them are interesting.  We’ll see whether you agree!  My current plan is to go to urgent care when I get home from work tomorrow, so I may not get around to posting tomorrow at all.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Knitting, Shawls, Socks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Shawl and a Pair of Socks

  1. Siga says:

    Your daybreak shawl is lovely. I need to get to this pattern one day as well!

  2. Laurie says:

    Eek? You’re going back to urgent care? That’s not good…I’m fighting some kind of respiratory crud today but managed to get my errands and laundry in before collapsing on the couch.

    I like how the Daybreak almost matches the socks – or at least goes well enough that it would be fun to wear them together. Of course, all of your projects are a delight!

Leave a Reply

