Two Socks Begun

And I don’t mean two socks the same – I just don’t work that way!

A bit over a week ago, I was ready to start something new and decided to work on Meg’s socks in Kabam, her wool, bamboo, nylon blend, that she feels is more suited to transitional seasons.  (Who knows they will be done in time for this spring, but that’s the way the cookie crumbles.)  These are in a colorway from her last club called Wired.  It’s a very cheerful and lively colorway, and I felt that a simple, rich texture was what was called for.  I looked through my Barbara Walker treasuries and in volume 3 (the charted one) I found a stitch called Nubby Stitch.  I fiddled with some variants, but in the end I decided I liked the original the best.  Here is what I have so far:

It’s a pretty simple stitch (3 stitches, 4 rows and two of the rows are straight knit) but I think it’s got a lot of impact, and I feel that it suits this colorway perfectly.  (The blue is a bit more green in real life but the depiction isn’t too bad.) However, before I embark on the heel shaping, I want to show this to Meg and get her take on it.  So this one is resting (until Sunday, when we’re going to have dinner with them.)

The other skein I had sitting around was a skein of Intrigue, a colorway in which I’ve already made a pair of socks for Meg and a shawl for me, this time in Tasty, her fingering-weight Merino / Cashmere / Nylon blend.  It’s a pleasure to knit anything in this yarn.  I decided this was going to be a pair of socks for me.  I thought a wavy pattern would be fun, so I grabbed my copy of Ripple Stitch Patterns by Jan Eaton.  I found a stitch called Welting Fantastic.  That stitch is an 11-stitch, 12 row pattern.  It has 6 rows of knit shaped sections, using K2tog and K2tog tbl as the decreases and knit front and back for the increases, and this is followed by six rows of all purl (once you’ve converted the flat pattern for knitting in the round.)  I switched it to be a 9-stitch, 10 row pattern.  My version has a nine-stitch shaped section using K2tog and SSK for the decreases and YO for the increases followed by a nine-stitch purl section.  There are only 4 rows of purl and 6 of the shaped sections.  The patterns interlock a little.  And the pattern really doesn’t look similar at all.  So I kind of think I’ve unvented a little pattern stitch here, to use Elizabeth Zimmerman’s great term for this process.

Here is the start of the sock, photographed flat.

I think that stitch is a lot of fun, especially in self-striping yarn.  I also took a shot of the sock on one of my foot dummies.  It doesn’t look nearly as cool, but I think a lot of that is the photo.

I find that I’m thinking about what else the stitch pattern would be good for.  It really needs to be knit in the round in its current incarnation.  I think it would make a really cool muff.  Or a double-thickness cravat, with this stitch on both ends (maybe a diamond on each end?) and a narrower stockinette tube for the center.  With some form of slot worked in, perhaps.  At any rate, I think I am going to enjoy these socks!

And, by the way, I did make it to urgent care last night – and almost nobody was there, so it only took an hour from leaving the house to getting back, and I got my prescription for anti-inflammatories, aka steroids, which is what usually gets rid of my coughs.  So here I am, starting another week of vacation together with medications.  I hope it will work out and I’ll be back to normal by the end of the week.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting, Socks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two Socks Begun

  1. Kirsten says:

    Have a good rest for your coughs!

    I agree that a cowl would be great for that stitch. It’s snuggly.

  2. Brenda says:

    You are right. that Nubby Stitch does have impact. Of course the gorgeous colours help.

  3. Laurie says:

    I certainly feel for you with the coughing. I’m an asthma puppy, and the worst thing I can do is catch a cold…months of hacking ensue. ugh…

    Both socks are gorgeous, both yarn and patterns. I definitely think that welted stitch would make an amazing cowl!

Leave a Reply

