Unexpected Project

So last night Franklin picked a pair of socks up and said “I don’t know what I’m going to do about these.” Naturally I asked for details. It turned out that one of the socks had developed a significant hole in the toe.

Sock with Hole

A pretty awful picture, but the hole is clear enough! Well, I’ve never been able to help with any of his other holes, but these were top-down socks and this hole is right near the end of the knitting. So I ought to be able to just remove the toe and reknit it, right?

My niece was visiting today and while talking to her, I removed the toe. I hadn’t realized that this sock had gotten fairly felted. So removing the toe wasn’t that easy. Now I’m going to see whether I can do a decent job of picking up the stitches. Then I will take some random sock-yarn-with-nylon and see what I can come up with. I certainly should be able to get the sock back to comfortable. And that’s what really counts, right?

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Unexpected Project

  1. Meg says:

    All his shoes are closed toe anyway. It should work out. Good luck!

  2. Sarah says:

    Can you darn the hole, Anne? It reminds me of my son when he was 6 or 7 in his first pair of hand-knit socks–he came in less than 2 hours later and pointed to me there is a hole on the toe! Of course, he was wearing that out in the cul-de-sac playing without shoes…Fortunately, I was able to do some simple mending with some pickup/duplicate stitches and it was good to go again. Of course, I told my son it would be the last pair I’d knit him if he doesn’t wear shoes out playing 😀

    Thank you for your assuring cheer on my woolen spun, Anne. It’s the beginning of a top-down sweater project and I’m very excited about the prospect and the fiber play. You’ve been very inspiring. I’m thankful to discover your blog 😀

    • Sarah,

      Well, I can’t darn it! I wish I could, since most of the holes Franklin gets in his socks are in the heel and I just give up on them.

      In this case, I did succeed in re-knitting the toe. See my next post, soon!

      I’ve been enjoying your blog and am very glad you are reading mine. I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

