Retirement Calls

It used to be that I was worried about what I was going to do when I retired. A lot of my emotional energy and my brainpower goes into my work, and I used to feel that I would be less myself – or only part of myself – once I no longer worked.

In the past few years, however, knitting and designing has come to be a major part of my life. I spend a lot of time knitting and thinking about knitting – so much so that I feel as though I will probably be able to stave off boredom pretty well.

And work is not what it used to be. Over and over again I am faced with the realization that the corporate world has gone downhill a lot (to my way of thinking anyhow). The personal touch is about gone. I really won’t miss working for a big corporate giant. I’d rather work for a really small company – like Twisted Fiber Art! It’s so yummy to go into my daughter’s studio and see all the fibery goodness filed neatly away.

A group of Evolutions from Meg

Retirement for me is going to mean yarn, knitting, design and computers. I just can’t wait!

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Retirement Calls

  1. Sarah says:

    It’s scary initially…I was so relief when I did make the move leaving the Corporate World I spent 20+ with. What a liberation! It felt good and I never looked back. With small companies, you can build relationship with people you see and work with everyday. It can even feel like a family, a place you look forward to arrive and be there. Retirement life is wonderful especially if it involves more crafty time 😀

  2. Good to hear that! I do still feel a bit nervous about the prospect. It’s still almost two years off, but that seems really close to me these days. I’ve been working for just over 40 years now – haven’t had a break of more than two weeks for over 30 years. So it’s bound to be really different!

Leave a Reply

