Frog Time

It’s as I feared. The version of the Cherish sock with the Japanese slip-twist combination is just enough tighter than the original version that Meg is afraid it won’t work for her. And I agree. I should have just frogged it as soon as I noticed the increased tightness.

In person, it really is prettier. I will come up with another pattern to use it with and swatch with the pattern not a variant of it. I definitely want to use the technique a bit more, to get it more firmly ingrained in my knitting psyche. But for now – time to visit the pond!

Maybe a stitch something like this would work?

Liberty Medallion Socks - toe, no flash

That stitch gave me problems as a sock anyway – the patterned instep was just too much shorter than the sole. It is, though, possible to knit a pattern stitch in something othe than socks. Maybe it’s time for some more fingerless mitts.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Frog Time

  1. Sarah says:

    The stitchery is just so beautiful–looks like butterflies all over. I can see why you want to make it work for the feet too. Can you add a few short rows perhaps to balance out the differences?

    Can’t wait to see what you make of this stitch, Ann. I really love the color-denim appeal?

  2. Thank you! Yes, short rows probably would work, but I was trying to write a pattern and didn’t think most people would be willing to do that.

    This picture represents something that was frogged a while ago. But I do think that stitch might work with the Japanese variant. And I would like to make myself some fingerless mitts. I really don’t have any.

Leave a Reply

