Petit-four First Sock Done

It is fun to complete a sock, even if it’s just a first sock. The Petit-four Sock, like Hildegard, looks an awful lot nicer finished. It inspired me to attempt some slightly artistic photos, of which this is one:

Sock and Flowers

I love the texture on this sock. It is really quite three-dimensional without being uncomfortably so. I think the stitch pattern goes really well with the rich colors of this yarn. Meg’s favorite part of the sock, though, is the Eye of Partridge heel. Some day I really will have to make her a full Eye of Partridge sock – she always raves about that stitch. I think this photo shows it pretty well.

Petit-four sock side

I have been coming along well with the second Hildegard sock. It’s almost to the gusset. I finished the first Petit-four sock last night and have not yet cast on for the second. Must do that – it’s very important for me not to let the first sock sit without the second begun. Will try to do this very shortly. I really want to continue my Waterlily shawl – I think it’s beautiful and it feels good and whenever you’re knitting lace you want to finish it so that you can see what you’ve made! It’s both a plus and a minus of this form of knitting. I’d also really like to play more with the 10-stitch swatch. But what I particularly want to work on is the Hildegard sock. There’s a possibility that I might enter it into the sock contest being run by Elinor of Exercise before Knitting. And to do this, I’d need to get further on that ASAP. We’ll see.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

