Burblings

One of the things that I am beginning to suspect very strongly is that doctors and others are often quite wrong-headed in things they say about exercise. They’re so anxious to make sure that people exercise “enough” that they frequently discourage them from exercising at all. I don’t know all the scientific evidence, but I have heard a fair amount that makes me pretty sure that the most important thing about exercise is to get some.

I exercise three times a week or less. I try to stick with three and I often toy with the idea of trying for four, but I just don’t seem able to make it. On the other hand, I do exercise for a solid hour now. It feels like a lot of exercise and it wears me out. What I keep telling myself is that the important thing is not to stop. And it’s been about 9 months and I’m still going. I can do more than I could at the start and I think I can do more outside the gym as well – but I don’t try often enough to really be sure. I don’t think I’m sleeping better (or more or less) and I don’t seem to have more energy. I think I may have more stamina – I did better on my last trip at walking fast through airports than I used to be able to. But the chief thing is – I believe that the exercise is doing me good. And if people tell me I need to exercise more, the only change they’re likely to make is to leave me discouraged – so that I might stop altogether. But I don’t plan to!

Miscellaneous Photo

Just to show a little something of my other (connected) hobby, here are my two most unusual BJDs, Clare and Bridget.

Clare & Bridget 1

These two are about 6 1/2 inches tall, and they are really round. They are a real challenge to knit for, but I have tried. Above you see the matching swimsuits that I made them. Lots of short rows. And here is Bridget in an Edwardian hat and coat that I’m very pleased with.

Bridget Coat & Hat Front

The hat in particular was tremendous fun to knit. I must work on some clothes for some of my dolls again soon – it’s enjoyable and relaxing.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Dolls, Exercise, Knitting, Toys and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Burblings

  1. Sophanne says:

    Thanks for the exercise post- you make a good point. It’s just good for you. The end.

  2. Sarah says:

    The outfit is adorable…definitely most fashionable doll I’ve seen! Terrific design, Anne.

    My hubby specializes in Health, Fitness, Wellness, particularly relating to brain mapping/nervous system. Doctors really do NOT know much about exercise–just look at the typical, physical shape of doctors! They don’t have a clue really…just because that’s not what they focused/learned in medical school. Most people when exercising, their minds are busy on something else rather than being mindful on what they are doing (some would be on cell phones, others watching TV or listening to music.) There has to be communication/connection with your physical activity to your brain to get ultimate result. Just my two cents…

  3. Meg says:

    Hello! You have *way* more energy and stamina! (I’m the daughter, I should know) Still not where you were for most of my life, but no longer worrisome and not ever to the *scary* Dad hit. But still a noticeable improvement by a person who isn’t you. Keep on keeping on! It’s soooo important to the people who love you.

    I LOVE you!

  4. I absolutely love the Edwardian Hat and Coat! It’s gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

