Swatching for Fun

OK, I like swatching. I know there are other people who do, but I think we may be in the minority. And, of course, I don’t like swatching if I’m not finding things out. But when you have some yarn and no idea what to do with it, swatching is particularly fun.

I have two big balls of Catnip – 50% silk, 50% merino, soft as butter, gleams like jewels in a beautiful colorway called Marigold. I started swatching tonight, and here’s a photo:

See the gleam?

I think the Little Butterfly stitch from Barbara Walker’s First Treasury is great for this yarn. This is a somewhat difficult yarn to figure out what to do with. I adore its “hand” and its appearance, but it really isn’t stretchy and you have to keep that in mind. I want to make a sleeveless pullover with it, but I don’t know if I dare. If I had just one ball, I would make a scarf, but I don’t think I can bear to make two separate things. There must be a reason I ended up with two balls, right?

The yarn can stand up to a little usage. I can try making something out of it and then take it apart and try again if it’s not just right. Because this yarn deserves to have something lovely made out of it!

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swatching for Fun

  1. Sarah says:

    I am one of those unfortunate knitters who can’t swatch to save myself!!!! The butterfly stitch is beautiful and show off self-striping yarns wonderfully. I love it in knitwear when pairing with another variegated, solid, or tone-on-tone yarns–even in different weight. The effect especially in brioche or knit-one-below stitches is heavenly.

  2. --Deb says:

    Yeah, I don’t really have the patience for swatching. I DO it, because I’m supposed to, but find it generally unhelpful because the finished gauge on just about every project is always different, anyway!

Leave a Reply

