Designing a Shawl

Today Meg told me that she needed a new shawl – she’d like one that was kind of like Daybreak, but with more sections. Here’s the Daybreak she wears all the time:

Daybreak 1 blocking

This is one of Stephen West‘s designs. I think he’s a brilliant designer.

I decided to start by seeing what I had in the way of other designs that could be miniaturized successfully. I looked at my downloaded shawl patterns and found a pattern called Fast and Easy Shawl by Alison Hyde. It has extremely simple directions, so I decided to knit a small and slightly varied version of it. This is in a retired colorway of Meg’s called Chomp. Here’s the way it looks just laid out:

Interesting pinwheel effect

This is clearly not what Meg is looking for, but I thought it would be interesting to look at it modeled. Here is Tabitha, my Yo SD, modeling it for you:

Tabitha Chomp Shawl Front

It wraps very nicely – I think I might enjoy a shawl with that design!

Tabitha Chomp Shawl Back

The angles that the knitting forms are a lot more dramatic than I would have expected from the design. All you do is knit across the sections you’ve got, with a YO bordering each, so each section having one more knit. The wrong side rows are just purled.

Well, that was just to give me an idea of how single increases work out and how many it takes to get what angle. Soon I shall try messing with paired increases and see where I get.

Blog Look
For some reason, I decided to mess with my blog’s appearance today. I’ve chosen a new theme and uploaded a new banner. Not sure whether I like it, but I certainly think it’s OK. We’ll see whether it grows on me or if I’d rather try another one (or revert to my old one.)

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Designing a Shawl

  1. Sarah says:

    Lovely partial pinwheel design. If you want to slow down the curve, couldn’t you just knit more stockinette rows before the next shift/increase? Instead of increasing every other row, you can bundle them in a bigger chunk of increases in tiers. There are quite a few free lace patterns that execute increases in such fashion. At the end, they all arrive at the same place–especially with a magic of blocking when it’s off the needle.

    I like the new imagine not so much for the header layout. I don’t know what it is exactly…I think Knitterlyanne’s Musings was a part of your image from before and flew smoothly into medley of colors. Have fun experimenting, Anne. I did a blog makeover not too long ago and really playing with all the possibilities…learning new gadgets and tools was a plus too šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

