What do I want to Knit?

I’ve been thinking about what to knit. There are, and will continue to be, many socks calling out to me. But what else?

Meg really does love to wear shawls, so I will be working on something for her. First I need to design something with the shape she wants (see yesterday’s post). For myself, I don’t really think I’ll knit much in the way of shawls because I’m so bad at wearing them. Though I might knit myself another Faroese shawl, like this one:

Blaze Shawl Worn Back 1

The shaping really does work for me. And I might make another using my Bandito pattern. This pattern is the same thing every row after the first. And I can wear it so long as I have a shawl pin. I should get more of those!

Bandito in Lagoon with pin

So there are a couple of types of shawl I’d like to have. What else?

Well, I’d like to have a lap blanket that’s the right size. So not a full-sized blanket at all. But that’s a pretty big commitment. I may do that and then again I may not. If I do, it will probably be some form of modular knitting. I love doing the kind where you knit the modules together as you go. But I’ve started a few and not finished any. Maybe I’ll consider some shape other than a rectangle or diamond – perhaps shells as in this bag.

What I keep wondering, though, is whether to start another sweater or vest for myself. I have made parts of several over the past few years but haven’t completed any unless they were either kid-sized or made with fat yarn. If I were to make one for me, I would really need to use fairly thin yarn – otherwise I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t wear it. I have in the far past knit many sweaters, some for myself, some for others. Here is a sweater I made back in the sixties:

About fingering weight wool, probably British

And here is a vest that I started knitting about 5 years ago. It’s made of Koigu. I find that I don’t love it as much as I did when I was knitting it by any means. I do still think it’s a kind of interesting design. Here is the front and back together.

Koigu Vest Front & Back

As always, I can’t tolerate boredom, so I did the front then switched to a totally different pattern for the back. Here is a detail of the front:

Koigu Vest Front Detail

The colors aren’t too accurate but you get the feel of the pattern. It’s all seed stitch. The bands were knit together as I went. And here is a detail of the back:

Koigu Vest Back Detail

This is very pretty, I still think. I don’t remember what I was doing at all, but it’s likely that I could figure it out if I decided to. I’m not sure if it would fit. It’s really short, but could certainly have a band of some sort added to the bottom if I wanted to. I think cropped works pretty well on me, so maybe it wouldn’t be bad.

Oh, well. If I do decide to make a vest I should at least consider finishing this one first. Probably not happening, but who knows?

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What do I want to Knit?

  1. Sarah says:

    The shawl is gorgeous, Anne. And the back of the unfinished vest is stunning! It simply took my breathe away. I do hope you will seam them up someday and sport around with proud. Your lens for colors and styles inspires me each and every day 😀

  2. Brenda says:

    I have just discovered your blog – I think as a result of a comment you left on one of my regular reads blogs. I am intrigued by your doll models. What a great idea.

Leave a Reply

