Revisiting my Perpendicular Socks – knitcroblo6

Today’s assignment is to revisit a past finished object.  One object springs to my mind – these socks:

Perpendicular Left-facing

I thought of the design for these socks in the summer of 2008.  This is the one of the few designs that I have created in what I think is the typical design – I thought of the idea, made a sketch, knit a prototype and proceeded.  I had finished knitting them by October of 2008.  Meantime I had attended some classes with Cat Bordhi, and she had encouraged everyone to enter socks in a contest sponsored by XRX.  There was a sizable grand prize, and I’ll admit that I had hopes of winning it.  And that I thought it quite possible that I would receive a lesser prize.  I gave little thought to the possibility of not winning a prize but having my socks included in “the book.”  In December of 2008, I mailed my socks off, together with the pattern as I had originally written it up.

The time of the contest came and went, ending in early March of 2009.  XRX announced that they were sending the non-prize-winning socks back to their owners.   After a month with no word, I began going through the pattern, revising it and adding some more features.  At the beginning of June (when I was about to send my revised pattern out for test knitting) I received a letter from XRX saying that my socks were going to be in the book and that I would receive my socks and two copies of the book when it was published.

Towards the end of March, I received an email from XRX with an attachment containing a copy of the part of the book devoted to my socks.  There were some nice things done in their pattern, but there were also some things I didn’t agree with and one fairly major error – they did not mention the size of the needles used to knit the soles.   I send corrections and suggestions back to them immediately – I hope there was time for them to make at least the one change.   I just checked Amazon this morning, and it gives a release date of today and says that the books are In Stock!  So any day now I should receive my socks and my books.  I really can’t wait to wear them!

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Revisiting my Perpendicular Socks – knitcroblo6

  1. Brenda says:

    Those socks are the best!

  2. Sarah says:

    That is one heck of a design, Anne. Terrific way to show off beautiful variegate yarn too. I am holding my breathe for my copy of the book to arrive, any day now 😀

    Congratulation on getting the pattern in the book! That in itself says a lot about your work. About the errata, I wouldn’t be surprised that your advice/correction isn’t included in the published book. Thankk goodness for internet and Ravelry. You can correct a page for the pattern and include such correction.

Leave a Reply

