I’m Not Impartial about Yarn – knitcroblo7

I’ve really enjoyed being part of the Knit and Crochet Blogging week organized by Eskimimi. What a great idea! I have discovered quite a few very interesting new blogs. Thanks so much!

Today’s topic is What a Yarn! This is a topic that I cannot pretend to be unbiased about. My daughter is a hand dyer – Meg of Twisted Fiber Art, and I think her yarn is truly special.  Meg started dyeing late in 2004 and opened an Etsy shop in December of 2005.  At first, she dyed variegated yarns, which were already special because of her eye for color but were technically similar to those from other dyers.  Then in 2006, she developed techniques that let her create self-striping yarns.  Here is an example from mid-2007.

Circle Socks

One of the nice things about her self-striping yarns is that the color changes are not abrupt as with machine-produced (and most hand-dyed) yarns.  Partly this is because she uses more colors than you would guess.   Also, she does not apply yarn in solid patches of color but blends the colors with each others at the boundaries.  Here is an example that shows the many colors in a colorway and how they blend.

Big Needle Scarf 1

But she didn’t stop there.  Next she came up with what she calls Mutating Variegate colorways.  In these colorways, there are stripes, but each stripe is itself variegated.  The blending of these stripes is truly unusual.  One of my favorite of these colorways is called Sherwood.  Here is an example which shows the colors in the yarn very clearly (although the stripes do look a bit different in items for people.)

Serena Jacket Finished

I love the way that stitch pattern works with the mutating variegate colorways!

Still not satisfied, Meg went on to develop what she calls Evolutions.  These are yarns which work their way through a colorway just once over the length of yarn being dyed.  A single skein of Evolution yarn on most of her bases is 70 grams, but she can make an evolution cover from 1 to 5 skeins.  She can even change the proportions to fit, say a triangular shawl, so that there is more of the color that will be at the wide end of the shawl.  I always get compliments when I wear, for instance, this shawl, which was knit from a two-skein evolution.

Blaze Shawl Worn Side 1

So although it may seem like an advertisement for me to choose my daughters yarns for this purpose, it’s really all I could choose at this point. Meg has often told me that her feelings would not be hurt if I chose to knit in someone else’s yarns – but why would I? I really feel that I would choose her yarns if we weren’t related and since she refuses to let me pay her for any of them and is always ready to let me have any unsold yarns that may be around or dye something for me at my request – well I just don’t use any other yarns these days. I just feel extremely lucky!

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Not Impartial about Yarn – knitcroblo7

  1. fridica says:

    It was really interesting reading about all the thoughtfulness your daughter puts into dyeing yarn, I was particularly intrigued by Evolutions! I’ve never worked with self-striping yarn, but now I’ll definitely look into it! And you should promote your daughter’s work as much as you like, there’s nothing wrong with that! 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    All those reasons pointed out about Meg’s yarns are valid. If I have a talented dyer/daughter in my family and is willing to let me play with all her creations,..I’d be in heaven everyday, dreaming up stuff I would like to play with 😀 Ditto on the latest Evolution dyework, it’s glorious. I learned to do gradation dye from Deb Menz at SOAR last winter and am in love with it. When I get my kitchen clean/clear, I like to do more dyeing…soon. Nothing wrong with promoting a great product, Anne!!!!

  3. Hege says:

    Love your shawl!!

  4. Brenda says:

    Having someone dye personally for you , then not let you pay – that ‘s the thing royalty is made of. Lucky you.

Leave a Reply

