Technology – a Small History Lesson

I wonder, am I the last person to discover Google Reader?  My daughter pointed it out to me a while ago and it has made my blog reading so much better!  Now I know when each of the blogs that I read has a new entry, and I don’t give up on people who don’t post for a while.  What a great tool it is.  I’ve heard some “Evil Empire” talk about Google recently and I’m sorry about it.  I just used Google Docs to create a survey form for the first time today, and it was amazingly easy to use.

I haven’t really got used to the fact that there are tools of all sorts available on the web and I just have to learn to use them.  It’s much harder for those of us who grew up before there were, for heavens sake, calculators to get used to this!  Seriously, when I was in college there was a room containing a lot of four-function calculators, very large and also chained in place so they wouldn’t be stolen.  We really did appreciate them, too!

Here is a pretty picture of a very early calculator, around 1964, when I graduated from high school:

This sold for $2,100 in uninflated dollars

Those of you who are pretty young can’t really imagine what it was like in those days.  Both my husband and I worked with computers – he started in the early 1960s, while I didn’t start until 1970 – and we remember mainframe computers that served whole businesses and which had much less power than the computer I’m typing this on now.  We’ve watched the world change.  I think we’re doing pretty well to be as up-to-date as we are, but there’s no doubt we do trail in some areas.

Random Knitting Photo

Legwarmers for Hazel, December 2007

These legwarmers were designed by Meg, who of course dyed the yarn.  They represent the belt colors of the Tae Kwon Do school that Hazel has been working in since a bit before then.  She is still going strong, almost to black.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Random Musings, Technology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Technology – a Small History Lesson

  1. Brenda says:

    I’m with ‘ya’ on the technology. I have basic computer knowledge but wish I knew more.

  2. Sarah says:

    I taught myself how to use a gigantic stand-alone word processor that consumed a whole office space at my first corporate job because no one knew (except one person) how to use it. The one person who knew anything about it was a power/controlling person. She didn’t have the time to teach me nor did she want me to know. I ended up staying after working hours, at my own expense, and read the little manual it did come with/learned how it functioned. I think that was part of the reason why the President ended up hired me on as his assistant even though I had no office experience at that time. I then taught myself to use a telex machine…boy, I wonder how many people today know what a telex machine is 😀 Yes, I am vintage. I don’t use google reader as I find that my blogger friends doesn’t know I visit them if I don’t comment on every post. I try to be selective on blogs I read daily so it’s manageable and they show on my gadget when a new post comes through. I try to stay away from external tools as much as I can because every tool like Google reader tracks your activities online. I am funny that way. I prefer to keep that to bear minimum as possible. So to answer your question, Anne, you aren’t the last person to use Google Reader 😀 And, yes, I went to knit night this evening without a knitting project. I was spinning though if that even counts. I have a baby knit that needs to cast on…but, I am contemplating on what to make. I like your mitered squares so much that I am also itching to start a pullover I have on my queue forever.

Leave a Reply

