Issues!

Having finally received my socks back from their year-and-a-half junket to the Think Outside the Sox contest, I decided to wear them today.  And I find that there are some things that need to be fixed in this pattern.  The ankles are a bit loose even for me and, more importantly, the soles are not large enough.

I need to figure out what to do about this.  I have the pair I wore today (one slightly larger in the sole than the other, which is more a knitting problem than a design problem, I’d think) and one finished sock in a smaller yarn, which definitely has too small a sole.  I’m feeling a strong desire to work out multiple sizes in this design.  And yet, although I’m very proud of these socks, I really don’t think that very many people will really want to knit them.  They require huge amounts of picking up of stitches, and I think most knitters don’t like doing that.  In some ways, I think the idea of taking this configuration and making a vest out of it is a better idea.

Here is a shot of the single sock.  As you can see, the ball of the foot and toe are fine – it’s the heel that isn’t OK.  The ankle feels much better than the one in the thicker yarn.  I know I could modify the pattern so that the heel would work OK.  I don’t want to leave this sock pattern so that it won’t work.  Should I work out just a new heel and post it on Ravelry?  It’s not easy to figure out how best to handle this.  Oh, well, I’ll come up with something.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Issues!

  1. Laurie says:

    As a fledgling sock knitter (just finished my first pair and cannot pry them off my feet-oh, the comfort!), I’m realizing my big challenge is going to be ensuring the ankles and heels are narrow enough for my bony little legs while also making sure the cuffs aren’t too tight to put the darn things on. Love the purple yarn you used for your pair!

  2. Sarah says:

    If it bothers you now, it will until something is done about it 😀 I don’t think it needs to be in various sizes though. Just come up with the size that fits you or one of your modeled members. Picking up stitches isn’t a big deal if the design and fit is desirable. Knitter will do what appeal to them in the first place. Go for it, Anne. LOVE the yarn colors 😀

Leave a Reply

