Blanket Progress

My Catnip blanket is growing nicely. It’s up to 3 squares on the 8th row of the blanket. It looks very similar, but here it is anyhow:

Now that I’m here, I think I’m going to stop the body at the end of this row.  There are two major and one minor reason for this.

First, I want to be absolutely sure that I don’t run out of yarn on the border.  That is one of the more unpleasant knitting experiences!

Second, I want this long enough to warm my lap but I absolutely do not want it to drag on the floor where my chair can roll over it.  I’m using a full-sized blanket now and it’s always getting caught in those wheels.  This blanket is going to be much too precious for that kind of treatment!

As for the minor reason?  I want to get it done as soon as possible!  That wouldn’t influence me if I didn’t have the other reasons, of course 😉

So as soon as I knit four more squares, it will be time for the border.  What I’m currently planning is to work an I-cord border first, then work a few rounds of mitered garter stitch with an integrated I-cord border on it.  Who knows if I’ll like it!  I’m pretty confident that I-cord around the immediate border is a good plan, though.  Once that’s done I’ll see what I think of the full thing.  I’ve decided I would like the blanket a little wider, though, so I don’t think just one round of I-cord will do it.  Looking forward to trying this out.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blanket Progress

  1. Sarah says:

    I love i-cord as finishing edge. And one of my favorite is braided I-cords in contrasting colors. Ditto on the size preference over chair. I hate it when it’s caught while swirled around. This will be the perfect lap throw to keep you comfortably wrapped 😀

  2. Laurie says:

    Can’t wait to see it!

Leave a Reply

