I-Cord – the Love/Hate Relationship

Really, there is something about I-cord!  It makes an extremely clean finish, often very elegant.  (That’s the love part.)  And it takes absolutely forever to knit – therefore the hate.  It’s easy – but it’s boring.

Here’s where mine is right now.  I’ve finished the squares – hooray!  And I’ve started the border.  I’m not positive I like it.  It’s a clever double I-cord knit in one as follows:

Working on 7 stitches.  Row 1:  K4, move yarn to front, slip 3 purlwise.  Turn.

Row 2:  K4, move yarn to front, slip 3 purlwise, pick up and purl one stitch from wrong side.

Row 3:  K2tog, K3, move yarn to front, slip 3 purlwise.

Repeat rows 2 and 3 until you reach a corner – then figure out what to do there.

I think it’s worth keeping going on for a greater distance, because I think it may well work out great in the end.  But the end is quite a ways off.  I always forget how slow I am with I-cord!

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I-Cord – the Love/Hate Relationship

  1. Jinann says:

    Hmmm….I’ve never done the attached I-Cord. I’m anxious to see how the blanket looks when done. I may need to try that edging myself.

  2. Sarah says:

    Very clever, Anne, for a double i-cord 😀 Just imagine…you are not alone. I am starting my knit-on edging too on my Tree of Life 😀

    By the way, I got my Think Outside The Box book this evening and guess which one I’m casting on first…of course, I’ll have to come to term on the yarn–that’s the most difficult part of the project LOL

  3. fridica says:

    I love I-cord too, but my problem with it is that I find it difficult to get it to be neat. Maybe I’ve been using the wrong yarn?

  4. Laurie says:

    I haven’t tried i-cord yet, but I love the way yours looks. Adding to my “queue of thangs to learn”. 🙂

  5. Brenda says:

    Keep going before you make a decision. Sometimes things look better in their entirety than small patches.

Leave a Reply

