Still Not Sure

Well, I’ve made significant progress on the border of my blanket.  I’ve gotten around a corner and partway up the side.  Here’s how it looks when I lay it out carefully.

I do quite like it.   I’m inclined to keep going.  I could, of course, finish it and then if I still didn’t quite find it what I want I could take it out and try again.  I could – but would I?  Probably not.  I’m pretty sure it will be at least “good enough.”

One issue is that it wants to roll under.  If I put it down without care, it looks like this:

But that really isn’t bad.  See how much nicer it looks with a border than without?  So maybe I should take it out and do it all in plain attached I-cord.  Decisions, decisions …

When I’m not working on the border, I’ve mostly been working on my old Waterlily shawl.  The needle it’s on is quite long, so I can more or less lay it out flat.  I think it’s looking pretty good.

I definitely like the neck and the front edges much better than on my first try.  And there’s nothing the matter with my patterns this time – I’ve got the stockinette versus garter parts worked out properly.  I kind of like the two patterns together.  Basically I’m satisfied with this shawl and just want to get it done.  Maybe I’ll just go ahead with it for a while and let the blanket sit – mostly on my lap.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Still Not Sure

  1. fridica says:

    Hm, honestly, I’m not crazy about how the double i-cord is looking. I think it looks much better when it’s rolled up, i.e. with a single i-cord edging. Not sure if it’s worth it to rip though, I mean if it rolls up to that anyway, then you get the same result either way, right?

    • Thanks for the opinion! I think I may agree with you. But since I still have about 2/3 of it to go and the double i-cord is a lot more work, it would probably be quicker to rip and do it again single. I’m not sure I’d be able to leave it like that, mind you, because I’m not that good at simple, but I am tempted. Hmm …

  2. Sarah says:

    I too think it looks nice in single i-cord…it doesn’t take away from the mitered squares. The shawl is gorgeous, Anne. I like the fact that it’s not repetitive in each tier. For selfish reason, I too like to see it finished and modeled 😀

  3. Laurie says:

    I hate to admit it, but I like it better rolled under, too. The Waterlily is coming along wonderfully, though – cant’ wait to see both!

Leave a Reply

