Summer Knitting

Knitting in the summer has not been a problem for me for the past few years, since we moved into a house with central air-conditioning.  Franklin has loved to keep the house what I think of as cold, so knitting was natural.  However, that started to change last year and we’ll see how it goes this year:  Franklin has lost enough weight that he just doesn’t seem to tend to being hot as much as he used to.  So there are possibly going to be days when I actually feel warm in the house.  Possibly, mind you.

So I’m going to make the assumption that I need to plan for some actual summer knitting, not just knitting in an artificially cold environment.  What would that mean to me, I wonder?

Well, if it does get hot in here, I’ll be glad to be finished knitting my lovely warm Catnip blanket, and I probably won’t want to figure out what to do with the leftover yarn just yet.  My Waterlily shawl is the same fiber mix as Catnip – 50% silk and 50% merino, but I think it would work just fine.  It’s so light, especially knit on large needles in a lace pattern that I think it would feel fine.

Socks are probably good for me.  I wear wool socks all year round – almost all the time with sandals.  I wear the combination in the snow and when it’s 95 degrees Fahrenheit.  So I’d still be happy to get a new pair, if they were for me, and Franklin wears his all year, too.  Meg takes a couple of the summer months off and doesn’t wear socks at all. So I could knit myself or Franklin some more socks.

Also, Meg has a base yarn called Shiny which is 50% merino and 50% tencel, and it doesn’t have much of a woolly feel at all.  It can be used for socks – Hildegard is made with Shiny.  So are these socks for Franklin, though they’re now, alas, deceased.

Circle Shiny Pair Flat

That shot gives an idea of how the yarn got its name – you can see it looks summery.  I think it would make a great summer shawl.   So if it does indeed start to get toasty in my house, I may head over to Meg’s and pick out some nice summery Shiny and whip up a little shawl.  Not that I’d limit myself to one project!

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Knitting, Random Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer Knitting

  1. Lori says:

    socks, socks, socks! they work for everything, don’t they: commute knitting, purse knitting, summer knitting, gift knitting. i smiled at your AC-ed summer; my aunt in austin used to crank the AC down to ~60-65 in the summer so she could build a little fire and make some chili. i used to tell her it was cold enough to hang meat.

  2. Brenda says:

    Lori is right. Sock knitting works for everything. I am so glad i learned how to knit them.

  3. Laurie says:

    Love the socks! I must admit, I’m not a big fan of summer knitting, and knitting with cotton yarn tends to make my hands achey. However, I recently found a darling knitted shell that I’ve cast on for. Yes…my hands ache after a few rows, but I will persevere!!! 🙂

  4. I’m not fond of knitting with cotton either. And since it can’t be dyed with the same dyes as the animal fibers, Meg doesn’t dye any, so I stick with yarns with some animal fiber. And socks are so great! What could be better than something portable, not a huge time investment and just great to wear? I had not knit socks in any of my earlier heavy-knitting periods, but for the last several years, I’ve had at least one pair going pretty well all the time. I don’t think the recent enthusiasm for sock knitting is very “trendy” – I think it’s a case of people finding out how rewarding sock knitting is and being long-term converted.

Leave a Reply

