Mastering Lacework

The other of the two of Annie Maloney’s books that I have had for quite a while is called Mastering Lacework.  This book has some really marvelous material in the front.  If you want to understand more about what will happen when you place decreases in a certain relationship with yarnovers, this is a great place to look.  Annie describes what causes biased appearance, wavy, scallops or chevron shapes.  She gives a method for filling in the top of a chevron in case you want one at the bottom of a garment or the like.  There are some really useful examples of how a stitch can be modified.

The original version of the book contained 25 independent stitch patterns (in addition to some from the descriptive section).  Fairly recently, Annie added another set of patterns to the version of the book that is now on sale.  And in a typical move, Annie made available a Part 2 book, available only to those who had bought the original version of the book.  This contains around 40 more stitch patterns.  I swatched three of those today.

First is a pattern called Linked Diamonds, which is 10 stitches and 12 rows.  I swatched this one with a fairly fine fingering yarn so it probably doesn’t show up as well as the others.  Here is the best photo I got:

This is a graceful and elegant allover pattern, but it isn’t the easiest pattern to get into that I’ve ever used.  It is a logical construction, though, so I’m sure I’d get used to it eventually.

Next is a stitch called Zigzag Rib 1.  This is 4 stitches by 8 rows.

I knit this with a square of stockinette in the center so that I could see how it would work as a horizontal or vertical border, and I think you can also get a good feel for how it would look as an overall pattern.  I think it would be great in any of those modes.  This one I sampled in a DK weight yarn which I think it looks great in.  Obviously this is one lace pattern that isn’t desperate to be blocked.  The design involves three knit and one purl stitch on each row (counting YO and decrease as knits).  You can see that it lies beautifully flat.  I’m not sure whether I’d really want larger needles if I used this for something – I guess it would depend on what it was.  I love how the stitch looks and will consider it when I want a rib that isn’t terribly stretchy for some purpose.

The third stitch I sampled looks simply gorgeous in real life, but I didn’t succeed in capturing it particularly well.

This stitch is called Herringbone Lace and it’s 5 stitches by 4 rows.  As you may be able to guess, I knit it with some leftovers from my blanket.  I think this one could definitely stand to have larger needles.  I love this stitch and would love to think of a small object (but not tiny – I have some leftovers all right) to use this stitch and this yarn in.  A pillow cover?  But I don’t think I much want a pillow cover.

Squared Marigold in Use

I wanted to get some shots of the blanket in use.  This isn’t really in use, but my granddaughter Hazel makes a great background, so here she is.

The blanket is a lot bigger than it was before blocking and not quite as lush.  I kind of wish I hadn’t blocked it and I may keep future Catnip projects unblocked.  But it still feels great and beautifully warm.  For Hazel, this orientation works best as the other way hits the ground.  For me, both work quite well.  I’m delighted to have it.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Design, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mastering Lacework

  1. Lori says:

    awwwwww……….Hazel is adorable! I want a granddaughter! And the blanket ain’t bad, either. 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    All three stitches are lovely. I too particularly love the herringbone stitch and can see them in all the springy wear I am planning to knit up over next few month. Recently, I came to realize I do not like anything heavier than sport or light DK weight. So lacework will show off beautifully. Thank you for another great review, Anne. Her books are in my wish-list 😀

    Did Hazel want to take the blanket home with her? It looks like a perfect fit and she is so content in the photo shoot 😀

  3. Laurie says:

    What beautiful work! Catnip looks more lovely every time I see it, and Hazel (one of my favorite names) make the perfect model.

Leave a Reply

