Not Quite There …

So I’m knitting furiously, trying to finish my Herringbone Lace Scarf while it’s still light so I can photograph it, so I can blog about it.  Well, the light is about gone, so I guess I’m not going to make it.

This would be a great time to use one of those non-dated pre-prepared blog posts that I have sitting around – assuming I had some!  I know there are things I could prepare in advance.  Any book review could work that way.  But somehow …

So I’ll just make a brief comment on how I just don’t get it.  I read a comment today by Annie Maloney saying that only a small percentage of knitters use stitch dictionaries.  OK, I know most knitters follow patterns, and lots of them follow slavishly.  Many people, I gather, use the exact yarn in the exact color of the original.  So obviously those knitters would not use stitch dictionaries.  Yet somehow, the whole idea of not doing so struck me as really odd.  I know, I’m the odd one.  But I love stitch dictionaries and have since I was in my teens.   And I’m glad I do.

For my not-very-related photo of the day, I offer this.

Giles Socks 2

This is one of the many pairs of socks that I knit by just using a standard top-down sock pattern with a stitch pattern on the leg and top of the foot.  I find such socks much more interesting to knit and also to wear.  And yes, I do swatch for all such socks to be sure the pattern and yarn look OK together and that the sock will end up the right size.  Some time I’ll lay out all my stitch dictionaries to get a picture of them.  But, as I’ve already mentioned, the light is gone …

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not Quite There …

  1. Laurie says:

    That surprises me, too. The whole reason I learned to knit was because I fell in love with Barbara Walker’s Treasury of Knitting Patterns that I saw in a bookstore (specifically, the Frost Flowers pattern). That said, I still follow a lot of patterns. There are just so many talented designers around today. However, I’ve never felt compelled to use the yarn called for in the pattern. This has caused several…interesting…conversations with LYS employees. 😉

    BTW, I didn’t know Meg was your daughter. I’ve been seriously coveting her yarn and am looking for the perfect project!

  2. Sarah says:

    What do you do with the swatches, Anne? Do you unravel them and use the yarns? Do you stitch them together, when enough swatches accumulated, into a lap throw or some sort? Curious mind wants to know 😀

    You know for a lot of people, they sought after relaxation and simple mindless enjoyment in knitting. After a long-day work–be it a 9-5 job or caring for children/elder all day long–they don’t want to have to THINK, just knit.

    • I almost always unravel my swatches. Generally speaking I unravel them right away and use the swatch yarn as the start of the project. I don’t think it’s the best way, it’s just what I do.

  3. Brenda says:

    Your Feather and fan socks are lovely. I think that there are few intuitive knitters left in the world. So many today are self or book taught. It takes a Mom or Grandma sitting with the beginner knitter to encourage intuitiveness.

Leave a Reply

