Waterlily Pie Progress

Having finished my Marigold Catnip yarn, I am now freed up to pay a little more attention to my Waterlily Pie shawl.  I knit some more on it and then decided to put it on a string and see what shape it was.  When you’re experimenting madly and you have an almost-circle of lace, you cannot tell what it looks like on the needle.  So here are some shots:

This is more or less the shape it is.  Of course, there is a lot that can be done with blocking and I think I could make it more like a circle or make the “slice” wider if I wanted.  But I think it’s about the shape I was looking for.

Here is a perfectly awful photo of what it looks like on – I never tried one of those pictures in a mirror before and I’ve gained a lot of respect for those who can make them look decent!  I do think that the fact that this mirror is inside a linen closet and the door won’t open all the way added an additional handicap …

You can see the length pretty well here – it’s not very long.  I do have some yarn left, mind you.   I’ve used about 120 grams with about 70 to go.

Here’s a detail.  This shows the pattern better than I’ve been able to achieve on the needle, though the color is awful.

The chief reason that I put this on the string was that I was trying to decide whether I should keep knitting on the number of stitches I currently have or whether I should do the next “scheduled” increase as in Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Pi Shawl recipe.  I had already decided that I wouldn’t do it quite on schedule (64 rows after the last increase)  but rather at 76 rows.  That’s 28 rows away – the plan was for one more row of diamonds (begun – you can see then near the edge) and then another pair of snowflakes, like the ones at the top and at the beginning of this band.  If I decide that I want to go ahead and increase, I think I would just do garter stitch, assuming that it would really serve as a ruffle.  If I don’t increase, I probably want to do some more diamonds before ending with some snowflakes and a bit of garter.  For this, I would need to figure out how much yarn I’m using per row and do a bit of planning.  I haven’t quite decided what I’m going to do.  The edge is still really stretchy, but do I have enough yarn that I don’t want to risk knitting straight?  I really don’t know.  I think I’m going to like it, though!

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Waterlily Pie Progress

  1. Sarah says:

    As is, it’s already looking beautiful and perfect caplet. Ruffles would be great feature too. I find last rows grow snail pace and its edging often consumes 45 to 55 percent of the whole project. I look forward to seeing what you decide on, Anne.

  2. Laurie says:

    I know whatever you do will look wonderful. LOL at the mirror pictures…mine always look like evil mug shots. Yes…how do people manage to pull that off?

  3. barefootrooster says:

    this is stunning! absolutely lovely.

Leave a Reply

