Fair Isle Doll Dress

I spent most of today knitting this dress:

Unfortunately, the light was about gone by the time it was done, so the photo, though taken outside, used flash.  It uses a golden “subtle” (semi-solid) from Twisted Fiber Art plus an old club yarn – several years old, now – that I had lying around.  I picked one of Annie Maloney’s fair isle patterns from The Knitter’s Guide to Stitch Design.  It’s knit on 2.25mm (US 1) needles and is pretty stiff.  I wanted to have enough stitches to allow for some interesting design features, and I didn’t want it to be flimsy.  But I might have gone too far – not sure.

Having gone this far, I simply cannot stop.  Next will come either a shrug or armwarmers, socks or legwarmers or leggings, and something for the head.  This needs to be an outfit!

The worst problem is that the band at the bottom still wants to curl up.   Maybe I’ll try blocking it.  I could try crocheting inside at the top of the band, too.  What else could I try – anyone have any good ideas?

I’m glad I suddenly got back to doll knitting.  It’s so much fun!

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Dolls, Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fair Isle Doll Dress

  1. Sarah says:

    As I said before, I really love to be one of your doll collection. They are so well-dressed, Anne! Do you have extra rows to hem it up, perhaps. Frankly, I can’t see the roll you mentioned…maybe because I love the overall appeal and didn’t see what deem to you (self-critical you) as a flaw? The more I look at it, I want some ruffles. Wonderful design work/details. Fabulous play, Anne.

  2. 4badbill says:

    Oh my goodness, Anne. I just love the little doll dress you’ve made. Absolutely stunning.

Leave a Reply

