The Tongue River Farm Sock Collection

As I was starting to knit a pair of socks to go with Abby’s outfit, I thought of one of my favorite sock architectures.  And I thought of the place I first encountered it, and decided to do a quick review.  The Tongue River Farm Sock Collection by Katherine Misegades is a very small booklet containing 6 patterns.  All of them use an architecture where you start at the top, work to where the heel flap would begin, then start a triangular patch of increases that forms a gusset.  Then you turn the heel on all the back heel stitches plus the gussets, then add the foot and toe.

I have knit two pairs of socks pretty directly from this booklet, though they were knit some time ago, before Meg started dying yarns.  First I knit her New Harmony pattern.  Here’s a photo, taken today, of this pair of socks.

Over the years, this natural yarn has felted to the point that it’s really hard to get them on, but I still love them.  The crispness of the pattern is gone, too, but you can still see the attractive main pattern, the gusset and sole done in checks, and the upper band.  You may not be able to recognize the sheep motif in the upper band, but it used to be adorable.  In this pair, I followed the pattern all the way down to the toe.

This pair was knit in Socks that Rock, one solid-ish and one variegated colorway.  This is the Waves and Rivulets pattern.  Here, I did not use the toe as designed, which is much prettier than this one, but tricky.

In this closeup, you can get a better idea of the simple sole and gusset stripes, combined with the elegant pair of vertical patterns.  I switched the colors on the two socks.

I love these designs.  I enjoy the gusset and the sole patterning and I think Katherine’s designs form a very harmonious whole.  The patterns are very heavy on charts and much less full of words – I had some difficulty with the first pair of these I knit.  Now that I have used this architecture in my own designs, I don’t think I’d have any trouble following these.  I have found the book very inspirational and think it deserves more attention than it gets.

Doll Socks

I made Abby a pair of socks that are, of course, much simpler than these, but they were certainly inspired by them.  Here is a photo of the socks.

I’m working on a headband now, and I think I’ll make a pair of leggings after that.  And then, maybe I’ll feel done.  Or maybe not – who knows?

Note:  this is post 99.  So tomorrow I’ll start my first contest.  It will be interesting to see how it goes.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Tongue River Farm Sock Collection

  1. Brenda says:

    Your socks are inspiring. Great knitting. And a great way to observe a special blog occasion – by the number of posts rather than the calendar. Can’t wait for the contest.

  2. Laurie says:

    I love those socks, especially the Waves and Rivulets – the lavender is to die for!

  3. Sarah says:

    Great collection of sock patterns. I make me want to go track down the booklet today! Abby’s new socks are terrific spin off. You never cease to amaze me with your designing ability and creactivity, Anne.

  4. ikkinlala says:

    Gorgeous! I love your New Harmony socks.

  5. Pingback: iPad for Travel | KnitterlyAnne's Musings

Leave a Reply

