Passing it on …

Lori of Thrums was kind enough to include me in her list of bloggers to receive the Beautiful Blogger award.  Thank you so, so much, Lori!  It makes feel really good to join the excellent blogs which have received this award over the course of time.

There are two things which recipients of this award do.  Pass on the award to others (see below) and tell everyone ten obscure facts about themselves.  Neither is a trivial task, but here is my list of things about me that you probably don’t know.

1.  I have lived in the US all my life, but have three times been lucky enough to spend three months in Europe.  Those are among my most treasured memories.

2.  On each of my European trips, I visited France.  The first time I made it through OK, but the second time, a tooth crumbled and I had to have my first crown.  The next trip, I ended up having my appendix removed.  And yes, I would love to go back to France!

3.  When I was in high school, the favorite hangout for my (very small) group of friends was Niagara Falls.  Such a great place to live!

4.  I got my BA with first class honours from McGill University in Montreal, Quebec, Canada.  I loved living in Canada for four years.

5.  I met my husband in graduate school at Yale.  He was studying celestial mechanics and I was studying linguistics.  We both ended up with careers in the computer field.

6.  My father was born in Thailand, then Siam, descendant of several generations of Presbyterian missionaries.  You know how the king in The King and I spoke English?  That’s because my great-great grandfather taught him how.

7.  I have been working and playing with computers for over 40 years now.  When I consider how fortunate I am to have been born into the time I was and not earlier in history, that’s one of the reasons I feel that way.

8.  My daughter and I both have the same favorite character, Miles Vorkosigan, the hero of a series of science fiction books by Lois McMaster Bujold.  Once when Meg and I were talking about Miles, my husband asked in a puzzled way, “Where do you two know this guy from?”  (I tell you, that author’s characters really do come to life!)

9.  My favorite spectator sport is ice hockey.  When I was in high school, we had season tickets to the Niagara Falls (Ontario) Flyers, a Junior A hockey team.  We had seats in the second row, and there was no glass, so we were really part of the action!  This remains a treasured memory for my two younger brothers as well.

10.  I’m one of the few people I know whose natural and usual background noise is silence.  I keep trying to remember to play music when I’m by myself, and I usually just don’t manage to.  I love Pandora radio, but somehow, silence is what I usually go for.

Now for the good stuff.  Here are ten blogs that I think you may enjoy.

Angry Chicken Sewing, cooking, crafting, kids …

Brenda Knits This year, Brenda is following Elizabeth Zimmerman down some fascinating knitting byways

Chappysmom Well written and well photographed – knitting with a handsome dog

Confessions of a Graveyard Gypsy Knitting for and with an absolutely enchanting baby

Fridica >> a new skill Knitting and fun with good photographs

Froggie Meanie Life with three adorable and lively kids

Live and Let Knit … and Craft A never-ending stream of crafty creations

Sel et Poivre Knitting and thinking in Canada

Smoking Hot Needles Knitting and spinning with dogs of character

The Art of Tying Holes Together Knitting and life

These are all blogs that I have followed with great interest and pleasure.  I hope you will enjoy them too.

(And thanks again, Lori!  That was fun!)

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Random Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Passing it on …

  1. lori says:

    You just have the most fascinating family background. Linguistics and celestial mechanics, what fascinating conversations you must have had when you first met! (Not that they’re not still fascinating…..but you probably don’t talk that much about linguistics and celestial mechanics any more 🙂 .)

  2. Laurie says:

    Thanks for including me on your list, Anne! I’ve found some great new blogs to read (some days it’s more fun to read than to write my own blog). Now I just have to come up with ten interesting facts…yikes… LOL!

    We’re a lot alike in that I tend to prefer silence, too. But I’m listening to my Pandora station right now, and I’ve had a nice long run of mellow piano jazz. I’m sure whatever comes next will stand my hair on end… 😉

  3. fridica says:

    Thank you for the award! It’s taking me a while to come up with my own post, thus the delay in reaction!
    My dad and his sister also love Bujold, though I myself haven’t given it a try yet! For now I’m trying to stick to all the books that I was supposed to read during my BA in English Lit, but never got round to…

Leave a Reply

