When Will I Learn?

Never is the most likely answer.  I do not have good instincts for when to stop “business as usual” in my knitting and head to bind-off.  It turns out that the right time to change what I was doing on my Waterlily shawl was a while ago.  Maybe after the first row of snowflakes in the green.

I kept going and put in the second (offset) row, knit one full round, and started to bind off.  The yarn was enough to bind off just about half the row.

Now these snowflakes are stockinette (with yarnovers) on a garter background.  So they don’t roll too badly.  It’s possible that I can just remove the half bind-off, tink one more row and recommence bindoff.  If will be right after the end of the motif, though. Not sure how it will look.  Or I could remove the second row of snowflakes and put in several rows of plain garter stitch.

For tonight, I think I’m going to go back to my Petit-four second sock.  I think I’ve got all the little bits of windshield glass out of it.  Oh, well, there are just days like this.  And I certainly brought it on myself!

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When Will I Learn?

  1. yarnpiggy says:

    This is exactly the sort of thing I always seem to end up doing. My vote is for frinking (that’s my word for something in between tinking & frogging) the second row of snowflakes…

  2. Sarah says:

    Edging takes up so much yardage! If it bugs you enough, I say remove 2nd row of snowflake and begin garter edge. It will be so worth it when it’s all finished, Anne.

Leave a Reply

