A Short Post Tonight

Today, I am absolutely exhausted.  Last night I went to sleep peacefully, waking up as I do most nights at right around 4 AM.  Went back to bed, lay down to sleep – and suddenly remembered, out of nowhere, that I am on jury duty this week.  And I hadn’t checked to see if I had to go in this morning.  So I dashed to where my summons was, found the number to call and checked.  I wasn’t needed today.  Glad to hear it, but by now I was all keyed up.  No more sleep for me.  So I zombied my way through the day.  Called again this evening – still not needed tomorrow.  I’m betting I’ll have to go in on Wednesday, since it’s my day off.

I must say, though, that I’ve only been on jury duty once before and I was an alternate on a very minor trial.  And I enjoyed it immensely.  It was really interesting to see how things were run and so on.  A few years before that, Franklin was on the jury for a murder trial – gangsters, at that.  And he was foreman.  He certainly found it fascinating.  So I’m a bit conflicted on this.  I’d kind of like to be on another jury – but there sure is a lot to do at work just now.   It’s not as though I have any say in the matter, anyhow – what will be, will be.

On the knitting front, the second sock has just had its heel turned, so I’m just about to start the sole.  I’m writing up the pattern as I go (with charts) and who knows – maybe I’ll actually publish it.

I’m thinking about what I’ll be doing with the rest of the yarn.  I’m very tempted to try a two color version of Stephen West’s latest pattern, Pogona, which I just bought.  Here’s a photo of one of West’s own versions:

It has panels of stockinette and reverse stockinette and it drapes in a really interesting way.  Not sure how two colors would work into it.  I could always try it and take it apart if I don’t like it.  We’ll see.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Knitting, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Short Post Tonight

  1. Sarah says:

    Bummer. I do hope you get some rest, Anne. Two-color shawl has an interesting appeal. As you said, you can always take out second color if it isn’t pleasing to your eyes.

  2. Laurie says:

    Love the shawl! I do hope you get caught up on your sleep soon (and don’t have to report for jury duty on your day off). A friend of mine got called to jury duty, and in the two weeks she was there, she got put on TWO murder trials. By the end of the second week, she was an emotional wreck.

Leave a Reply

