Shawls, cont.

I’ve knit enough on my new Daybreak that it looks a bit different from yesterday’s version.  Here it is:

The stripes have begun.  You can see that there is a lot of curve in this at the moment.  I’m pretty sure that I could straighten it out a lot in blocking (which is still a ways off, mind you) but Meg says it looks as though it will curve nicely around her neck as it is.  So this is a go – I’m going to keep knitting until I get low on yarn.

I have also started – and frogged – and started again – and frogged – and am preparing to start again a new shawl, called the Lune Shawl (rav link) by Miriam L. Felton of MimKnits.  I discovered this by following a reference in Ysolda’s blog.  Miriam has a new book out called Twist & Knit, which contains several patterns which are designed to allow you to use up all of a precious yarn.  I think these are perfect for Meg’s yarn.  And the Lune Shawl is particularly scrumptious and will work great for an Evolution, I believe.  Here is a photo of it from the pattern.

In addition to the stockinette version shown in the pattern, there is a pattern with the outer section still stockinette but the other sections filled with two different lace patterns.  My first attempt was to insert different lace patterns in the sections.  I still like the idea, but making the charts was very tough, so I gave it up for the time being.  Then I cast on and started the stockinette version without markers.  After a very short time I found myself confused, so I frogged again.  I think I’m going to try it in the stockinette version with markers this time and see how it goes.  The shaping is just fantastic.  I’m working with the Petit-Four from the last club, in Muse.  The yarn in the upper left in this photo:

In real life, the Muse is much more muted than it looks in this photo.  I’m starting with the green.  I hope this will work out!

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shawls, cont.

  1. Siga says:

    I love your daybreak’s colours. Great choice!

  2. Laurie says:

    You have some really great knitting going on! I think both shawls will look just perfect on Meg. I’m scouting yarn for a Lune for myself, in both versions. 🙂

  3. Sarah says:

    I love following your progress, Anne. It’s like a child opening a present…what a transformation it takes simply by adding strips in contrast. The color recipes for this shawl will make a wearer feel like a princess! Another great knit.

Leave a Reply

