Waxing Moon

My Lune is coming along.  The rows are already pretty long (I counted a few rows ago, and it was 261 stitches, and I’m adding 8 stitches every 2 rows, so it’s more now!)  So I am not speeding through it!

Here is a picture of how the pattern is coming along:

You can see the new panel on either side of the original panel on the back.  There’s also a fairly good view of the petals drifting down on the next two sections.  You can’t see the color, although you can see that the color is changing.  It is in fact going from green with brown to blue with brown and pink.  I have not been able to capture the color at all accurately.  The closest I’ve come is this:

This is by no means accurate, but on my monitor at least it gives a better feel for the color than any of the other shots.

The shape of this shawl is just great and it is definitely fun to knit.  In general, I’m liking my idea of limited lace patterning.  The panels are not perfectly situated.  If this had been my own pattern, I’d have worked out a chart that started the first panel at the top and added the second as soon as there was room for part of it.  And mirrored the second panel since it isn’t symmetrical.  How the end result looks is still up in the air.  But I think it’s going to be a fun shawl.  It still has a long, long way to go, however!

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting, Shawls and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waxing Moon

  1. Laurie says:

    Just beautiful! I can’t wait to get my needles clicking on this one! Isn’t it strange how some yarns just resist being photographed well? I’m having the same problem with the Marble Chunky that I’m using to make a rug – so many lovely greens, blues, and purples, yet it photographs as “weird turquoise blob”. 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    Fun indeed. Love seeing the Lune progress and your ingenious designing mind 😀

    I have a difficult time capturing purple and blue with my camera . It drives me nuts. Hopefully, with more playing and exploring, I will overcome such challenge.

Leave a Reply

