Lune Spread Out

I’ve managed to do a small amount of knitting lately, and mostly it’s been on Lune.  I do love the pattern, and I think I like how it’s coming out.  To give myself a better notion, I put it on a string and took some photos.  Here’s the whole thing, in a photo that gives a pretty good notion of the overall shape.

Lune 1 on string full

You can certainly see that this is one which is wide but not very deep.  This view also shows all five sections pretty clearly.  I love the lines of these sections.  The pattern on the side sections with the randomly scattered motifs shows pretty well, and I think I like it.  I tried it on.  It needs to be longer, and it needs to be blocked and needs a bit of a border.  The border called for is two garter ridges – I hope it will be enough.

Lune 1 on string centerHere is a closeup of the lace in the center.  This photo was taken inside, in artificial light, but it still manages to give a better idea of color than any yet.  You can certainly see that the colors are changing a bit.  It started green and brown and is now in the blue with pink stage.  If you look at the top photo, you’ll see that the remaining yarn has some more of the current color and then turns more pink.  I’m looking forward to seeing how it looks later.

The last row I knit was 399 stitches.  The rows are also gaining 8 stitches in every pair of rows, so it takes a while for the length of the piece to grow.  We’ll see how it goes.  I hope I keep on with it fairly rapidly, because I think it’s going to be a really interesting shawl when it’s done.  And I think I might well knit another Lune sometime in the future.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Knitting, Shawls and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lune Spread Out

  1. Siga says:

    This looks amazing! Can’t wait to see it blocked.

  2. Laurie says:

    Anne, it is absolutely beautiful!!! I just got my copy of Twist & Knit today, and I think Lune will be my first project.

  3. Sarah says:

    Lune is absolutely gorgeous. I love the intricate lace scrolls in the center with eyelets throughout other panels. It’s all very exciting/thrilling to see it grow. I look forward to seeing it soar off the needles, Anne.

  4. Lori says:

    Missing you! Hope the family drama is settling down and the doldrums are lifting. They’ve been hanging over me too – maybe it’s dog days, or something. Anyway, hope you are doing ok Anne – your knitting is as beautiful as ever.

  5. Brenda says:

    I am just back from vacation and catching up on my blog reading. I have surely missed your delightful dolls over the summer. Glad to be home and able to see them again.

Leave a Reply

