Subtle Pattern / Dramatic Color

This is the story of my knitting to a large extent.  With the dramatic colorways that Meg dyes, I find that I do best with subtle patterning.  So here is the latest finished object from my needles:  Meg’s Quirky Socks.  These are on one of her latest yarn bases, Tasty, which is a fabulous Merino / Cashmere / Nylon blend, in one of the colorways from her last-finished club.  I love how these socks knit up.

These are the ones with the little brocade diamonds.  I took lots of pictures of them, and some of the photos show the pattern quite clearly, such as this one:

In others, you can scarcely tell that there is any pattern at all.  Here’s one of those:

And that’s the way it is in real life too.  Sometimes the pattern is obvious, but sometimes it’s totally obscure.  Oh, well – the details of handknit socks are mostly of interest to the knitter and sometimes the wearer.  Not too many other folks care at all.

The other thing I liked about this pair, as often is the case.  I make no effort at all to get patterns to match – when I’m done with one sock, I cut off enough end to work in then cast on for the next.  This colorway had quite wide stripes.  And since it was a club yarn, no coordinates were available.  Yet it still came out with very similar stripes on the two socks.  I sure don’t insist on identical, but I still enjoy a little symmetry.  And I do love those colors!

 

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting, Socks, Twisted Fiber Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Subtle Pattern / Dramatic Color

  1. Laurie says:

    So beautiful! I love the diamond brocade pattern. If those were my socks, I’d get nothing done – I’d just sit and stare at my feet and goofily smile all day long. 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    You are amazing in pairing up wonderful stitchery yet looks simply. Cashmere…oh mine, what a luscious comfort cozy for the feet. It’s very inviting here in these long winter months 😀 I love the new long colorway. Another perfect, not so quirky from this end, socks. Thanks for the colorfest, Anne.

  3. Jinann says:

    Love, love, love the colors! I’ve flipped through several posts of gorgeous eye candy – every sock, shawl, hat is a stunning work of art!

  4. Lori says:

    whoa, i love those colors too!! really gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

