Fingerless Mitts

The term Fingerless Gloves sounds more natural, but I think it should best be used to describe something that has the beginnings of four fingers as well as a thumb but leaves the tips off.  Fingerless mitts are like mittens with the top of that chopped off.  So that’s all I’ve made.  I think when I feel like knitting gloves, I’ll probably knit the whole thing.

I’ve made five pairs of fingerless mitts so far, all to my own design.  The first pair I made was a pair of long (above elbow) and wide mohair gauntlets for myself. They were designed to be worn over long sleeves. And that’s how I use them. I keep them at work and when I’m really cold and they go with my outfit, I stick them on for a while. (Or if I’m really, really cold and they don’t go. Nobody notices anyway.) Here’s a photo of them.

Vixen Gauntlet Worn 1

Three of them were presents that I was somehow inspired to make after Christmas (early in 2009) for three of my colleagues.  Here’s how they looked when they were presented.

Fingerless Gloves Gifted

These were a success. They started out at work but all migrated home. I still hear about them sometimes. One of the recipients is an Indians woman, and she loves the extra warmth and uses them a fair amount. The others mention using them when they get extra cold.

Then there is the pair I made for Toby for this Christmas, which has been a rip-roaring success. He’s worn them a lot – with a short-sleeved shirt, which is all he ever wears. I still haven’t managed to get a photo of him wearing them, but here’s how they looked in the box for Christmas:

Toby's Bark Mitts

All of these were pretty successful. So my question (mostly to me) is: why haven’t I knit more?  They’re a fast knit, they’re useful, you can use fun patterns on them (coordinating with socks if you want), they don’t take much yarn …  I suspect that’s the major thing, though.  Although they don’t take much yarn, I usually don’t have enough left after a pair of socks to be sure I can get a pair of fingerless mitts out of them.  I could usually get two pair of mitts from a skein of one of Meg’s sock yarns, but who wants two pair the same color?

I am embarking on a pair for Franklin now, though, using some gorgeous almost-solid yarn I got from Meg.  Tomorrow I’ll show you the four skeins I got as well as the start of Franklin’s mitts.  And as time goes on, I hope to show you more mitts as well.  Because they’re fun!

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fingerless Mitts

  1. Brenda says:

    My favourite are the orange mohair mitts. Gorgeous.

  2. Marie says:

    You’ve already made 5 pairs…that’s nothing to sneeze at! (Especially since they are all so different and all look so great!)

  3. Laurie says:

    I love my fingerless mitts and always wear a pair over my leather gloves – my hands have never been warmer! Can’t wait to see the ones you’re working on now.

  4. Kirsten says:

    I am just now in the mood for knitting mitts. My old ones need replacing. Thank you for lovely inspiration.

Leave a Reply

