A Great Shawl Design

One of the blogs that I read is called “do stuff!” which is a great name for it.  This is the blog of the very talented young Lee Meredith aka Leethal.  She has come up with some really interesting knitting designs – though that is by no means all the craftiness she is up to!  A couple of months ago her blog featured a new shawl design by her called Betiko.  This is a very versatile (and thorough) pattern.  Here are a couple of the shawls Lee made with the pattern.  The first one has stripes that help elucidate the unusual architecture of the shawl.

This second one shows the insertion of some serious patterning into the shawl.

I immediately wanted that pattern and bought it right away.  And cast on immediately.  And knit some of the very interesting first section.  Here’s what it looks like.

This shows the end I’m currently knitting and also displays the row of neat little stitches waiting to start the next section.  I love the pattern, and I think it will be fascinating in this striped yarn.  So what’s stopping me from proceeding?  Well, it’s a little matter of needles.  The one I’m knitting it on is not long enough, and I don’t have another that is.  Mind you, that needle is a very special one – the Signature circular that I asked for for Christmas.  It’s a marvelous needle.  I want more.  And I need to get more needles in size 6 (4 mm).  That turns out to be one of the sizes I have very few of.  Unlike size 4 (3.5 mm) of which I have at least 10 circulars not currently in use.  It seems to me that usually when I’ve bought needles recently I’ve got two each of size 1 through 3 (2.25 mm through 3.25 mm) but you couldn’t prove it by looking at my needle collection.  I’ve got lots of 0 (2 mm), a significant collection of 2.25 and 2.5 mm, then almost none in 2.75, 3 or 3.25 mm.  At least not in my needle holder.  And I can’t find many in WIPs.  So either I just don’t buy the way I think I do, or I lose needles a lot.

At any rate, I really do need to get some more in the 2.75 through 3.25 range, plus some more 4 mm.  I really do want to continue with Betiko sometime soon.  And free up the Signature needle for something that it can comfortably hold.  Better just put in another knitpicks order, I guess.  Soon.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Knitting, Shawls and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Great Shawl Design

  1. Sarah says:

    Isn’t she amazing!! Lee was teaching a pattern publishing class recently in Portland. Wish I could’ve been there. She is as delightful as she was pictured. I hope your dilemma is resolved soon so we get to see how your shawl transpires, Anne 😀

    In your case, you can’t blame another knitter (or two) in the house…I have literally hundreds of needles in all sizes but yet I have trouble finding the size I need whenever I cast on for next project. So, you see how and why I end up owning hundreds of needles LOL

  2. Laurie says:

    Wow, what a great pattern! Thanks for giving me a new blog to read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

