After One comes …

You guessed it!  There are now two fingerless mitts.  I spent most of yesterday working on it, but it was worth it.  Franklin has been wearing them quite a bit – I’m hoping he will actually end up finding them useful.  Here is an action shot – showing fingerless mitts as they’re meant to be used:

Franklin's Purple Mitts in ActionAnd here’s another shot of the mitts, if you can even notice them with Franklin mugging it up as he’s inclined to do!

Franklin and his Purple MittsOn the whole, I’m quite pleased with how they came out. I think the central cable is truly elegant. I enjoy how it grows out of the wrist pattern. And I also think the top effect (almost circular) came out surprisingly well. I didn’t use any tricky techniques, just plain cables with one P2 tog in the ribbing above the cable. But I don’t think the miniature cable on the sides really worked out – it just won’t fit on the back of the wrist.  So, not bad but not a triumph either.

I also discovered a pattern by MMario called Boomerang.  I really like this shape!  The key here is that you increase every other row on one side while you’re decreasing every fourth row on the other side.  I thought that shape wouldn’t work with an Evolution but might look great with a striping yarn.  I had a skein of Juliet in Tasty, so I had to try it out.  Here’s how it looks at this point:

Boomerang 1I’ve varied from the pattern in several ways.  First of all, I changed the increases from K1f&b at the edge to YOs inside the three garter stitch border.  I also switched from stockinette with random garter ridges to sand stitch first.  I then decided (just a few rows ago) that I would throw in an inner panel of purl garter stitch.  We’ll see how that works out.  But so far, I’m loving the shape of this.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting, Shawls and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to After One comes …

  1. Kirsten says:

    That settles it. I need to knit some mitts, and I need to encourage my man to let his beard grow. Not sure whether the office will approve…

  2. Lori says:

    HA!!!! Franklin is so awesome! (the mitts too, of course, but it was hard to see past Franklin’s stylin pose. 🙂

  3. Sarah says:

    You know how I feel about cables and textures! This pair really says it all. Terrific design work, Anne, with such perfection and flawless execution. The jewel tone of the shawl is fabulous, as always. I look forward to seeing what it becomes…and I think it would make a glorious Rodekool, pairing with another contrasting colorway out of Meg’s dyed cashmere/blend yarn 😀

  4. Laurie says:

    Hahahaha! Love the mitts, but the “action shot” of Franklin is priceless!

Leave a Reply

