Cabled Maple

Knitting Toby’s first gauntlet taught me quite a bit about Meg’s Yummy yarn base.  It’s around DK weight – that is thickness.  It feels absolutely superb to the touch, and it also has some real heft to it.  I have a cake of Meg’s Maple colorway (from the last club) in Yummy, and I’d been vaguely thinking of knitting a shawl from it.  But after using Yummy in a project, I decided that for my taste, I would prefer a cowl.  But not a tube-shaped cowl.  My neck is too short to make that practical.  Instead, I wanted one of the cowls that spreads out over the shoulders.  And I wanted something that would hug the neck.

I decided to try out some of the fascinating cables in Annie Maloney’s Aran Lace.  I picked out three and tried them out and selected two to use in my cowl.  They are number 12 – six stitches and six rows per repeat.  I like it a lot.  And number 44, which is 17 stitches by 12 rows.  I did a little math and found that p1, k1, p1, cable 12, p1, k1, p1, cable 44  (29 stitches) would make a nice quarter of the width at the start of the pattern.  I then arranged the stitches and figured out where I’d like to do increases after some ribbing and cut down to 104 stitches to start.  So I cast on and knit for around 4 inches in K1, P1 ribbing, then started my pattern.  I’ve been charting as I go in Excel, and am currently adding 4 stitches to each repeat every 6 rows, which is working out to be a nice smooth fit over the shoulders.  I’ve currently knit about 65 grams with about 85 grams left.

My pictures are really bad, I’m sorry to say, but I’m going to post them anyway.  Here’s how it looks with the ribbing spread out.  I won’t wear it that way, but if I were really cold I could spread it over my mouth.  This photo also shows the rest of my yarn.  You can see the color change is pretty dramatic!

Here is how it looks with the green end of the ribbing tucked inside.  I have tried it on that way, and it’s very comfortable, so I think I will wear it that way sometimes.

And here is a partial picture (I just couldn’t stand how I looked in this one) that I’ve captured so I can show people how it would look knit with various lengths of yarn.  Because I think this would be a lovely little cowl if worked a couple more rows (to the end of two vertical repeats of the 12-row pattern) and bound off.  But that’s not what I’m doing!

This is an absolutely lovely knit to work on.  I’m enjoying it so much I can scarcely bring myself to stop working on it long enough to make this post!  Back to knitting right now.

 

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cabled Maple

  1. Sarah says:

    I could feel your excitement all the way over here, Anne! The yarn color is to dye for. I love how you break down the math details too. It’s amazing how many knitters out there just don’t get this part of the design elements for success. The cabled cowl is beautiful, but yet, I was hoping to see jeweled purple reveal in the knitted fabric. Thanks for the lift in this gruesome snowy day! Splash of colors is good 😀

  2. Laurie says:

    Love both the design and the choice of yarn. Now you have me thinking about these wonderful capey cowls. 🙂

  3. Jane@WTKnits says:

    Oh, Anne it’s lovely! I really like the colour changes and the cabling is beautiful.

  4. Caroline says:

    Hi Anne, Thanks for stopping by my blog. I love all of your mitts, and the cowl is wonderful. You’re the one who knows how to work with colors, it looks like:)

  5. Just found your blog, and I’m so glad I did. The colors in the yarn are scrumptious. I’m also awed by your design ability. How does anyone do that?

Leave a Reply

