Completed Cowl

Last night I finished my cowl.  As always, the end took longer than I thought.  I knit until I got towards the end of my yarn, then started weighing my yarn after every round.  It was the first time I’ve done that, and I really did like knowing when I was going to be running low and needed to start binding off.

I had been adding stitches between the cables regularly as the cowl grew to fit over my shoulders.  I put those stitches into a combination of knits and purls.  Early on, I added a three-stitch cable, and right towards the end, I threw in two more of them.  I decided that the main section of the cowl should end after round 1 of the smaller cable, where the cross was.  So when I had finished that, I converted most of the stitches to seed stitch, leaving all the three-stitch cables in place.  I’m not sure that the effect is great, but I like it quite a bit and I didn’t have any better ideas, so that’s what will stay.

Here is a photo of the finished cowl, showing the details pretty well.


I’ve had it on all day, and it feels lovely and warm.   Here’s a side view to show you how it works on.

I love how the dark color on the edge looks!

I also want to show you a picture of Tobias modeling the gauntlets.  I must say they aren’t as long as I was thinking they were – they come a lot closer to my elbows, for some reason.  Perhaps because he’s already a couple of inches over 6 feet and has arms that are long for his height?

Tobias has a more serious approach to modeling than his sister or grandfather.  But he was totally willing and gracious about it.  I will be very glad to make a few more pairs of fingerless mitts for various family members.  They aren’t as useful as socks (to my way of thinking) but they are nonetheless well worth having around.  I need to design a few more!

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Grandchildren, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Completed Cowl

  1. Kirsten says:

    Lovely sunburst! The texture shows up really well in spite of the color change.

  2. Brenda says:

    OK, nice cowl, but hazel’s got that modelling thing down to a ‘t’. Sorry Grandma.

  3. Sarah says:

    Beautiful design in such lovely gradient. I do love the framing around with seed stitch, one I find myself using quite often…when in doubt. My scale is within reach, right by my side whenever I am knitting or playing with fiber. It’s one of those obsession, Type A controlling nature I can’t seem to shake LOL

    It’s awesome Toby is willing to be modeling this gorgeous pair of gauntlet. I can’t get my teens to do any these days, thus a few finished knits are still awaiting…for live shots! How it all changed in a month’s time.

    Thanks for the fiber treat, Anne 😀

  4. Laurie says:

    OMGOSH! I am deeply in love with that cowl. Are you going to publish the pattern? I want to make that cowl!

    Tobias…love that name, and love his style of modeling – you really can see the details in the mitts very well. 🙂

    As always, your projects are beautiful and inspiring.

  5. caffeinegirl says:

    I’m impressed with Tobias’s willingness to model. Teenage boys can be reluctant in front of a camera!

    I absolutely love the cowl. The design and the color are perfectly matched!

Leave a Reply

