What I’m Knitting Now

I’m not a monogamous knitter (no surprise to anyone who’s read this blog for a while) but I’m really having a hard time sticking to one thing just now.  I have four projects that are truly active at the moment, and I thought it would be a good time to show you what they are.

The one of these that has been going on the longest is the socks I’m making for Meg out of Intrigue, a lovely colorway from the last club.  This is the one where I’m doing moss stitch in one color and sand stitch in the other.  I do like how they look, and so does Meg, so I really should work on them more.  I just finished the first one and immediately cast on for the second.  (This not only helps guard against second-sock syndrome for me, but also ensures that I get the same needles for the second sock.)  Here is the first sock:

I must say that I think the gusset shaping on this one is cool.  It’s really just about invisible.  I also had recorded on Ravelry the idea that I might switch patterns between the colors in the second sock.  I have the feeling, though, that there is more purple than blue, and I like sand stitch better than moss, so maybe I won’t.  Meg actively likes differences in the two socks of a pair, though, so maybe I will.  Hmmm.

The next oldest project that’s still going is my Boomerang in Tasty, in the Juliet colorway from last club.  I love the colorway, love the shaping of the pattern, but I think I may have gotten carried away with the patterning.  Here’s an overall view of the piece:

It’s already about 18″ long, and I’ve used about 20 grams, with about 85 remaining.  So there is quite a bit more length to come before I hit the halfway mark.  I think it may be a very nice size when it gets done (or if).  Here’s a closeup of the part where I threw in the garter panel in the center.

I’m not sure whether I like the effect or not, and it is a bit of a nuisance to keep track of.  So should I go back to the start of the garter part and switch to all sand?  Or kill the whole thing?  Or just keep going?  More questions.

I’ve got an Evolution in Arial in a colorway called Dazzle that I’ve been struggling over what to do with.  I’ve tried about four things and didn’t like anything much at all until my latest try.  I decided to try Herbivore.  This is a pattern that I knit a doll-sized sample of and really liked the shape of.  It’s easy knitting (good work knitting).  It’s going to be pretty big, I think – a double evolution in Arial has a lot of yards.  But it’s looking elegant even in the starting color (which is pretty close to solid for Meg, and pretty long) and I suspect the later changes will be gorgeous.  I think this is probably a good fit with this yarn.  At any rate, I think I will keep going on this one.

And lastly, I’m working on the Ziprelaxagon Socks by Kirsten Hall.  One of my most loyal commenters, Sarah of Live and Let Knit and Craft test knit these socks and I knew I wanted to try them.  The pattern came out last week and I snapped it up.  I started by trying out the Tasty in Juliet that I’m using for Boomerang (other end of the ball) and the sample hexagons knit up beautifully and lay nice and flat – but were much too big.  And the color change is just a bit too slow also.

So I decided to try the other end of my ball of Marigold on Arial which was currently in use for Betiko.  These are much lumpier at this point, but I love the colors, and the sample hexagons measured just right.  I’ve finished the first two tiers of hexagons, and have tried them on.  And I can’t tell much at all.  So I’m going to keep going.  Here is how the start looks at the moment, on one of my sock dummies.  (And my foot is definitely fatter than that dummy’s.)

Do you see that the hexagon at the center top of that photo is different from the others?  This is typical of the attention to detail on this pattern.  And I’ve always loved modular knits, which these socks definitely are – but with a twist or several.  Fun all the way!

I’m also busy gearing up for the second Knit and Crochet Blogging week, organized by the gracious Eskimimi.

Further details on this event can be found here.  For anyone who doesn’t know, this is an event where anyone can sign up to join lots of other bloggers in posting every day (or as desired) for the week.  There is a topic for each day, as well as a wildcard topic in case one of the daily topics just doesn’t resonate with you.  I had lots of fun with this last year and will definitely be joining in again.  I’m busy getting ready for Day 5 now – this is a really interesting one.

About Knitterly Anne

A knitter for many years, I have become increasingly involved with designing knit patterns in recent years. Other interests include my lovi
This entry was posted in Design, Knitting, Shawls, Socks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I’m Knitting Now

  1. Sarah says:

    You’ve been busy, girl! But, I LOVE them all. My way to combat second sock syndrome is to knit-two-at-a-time. Also, for unknown reason, the gauge for both is very consistent. If I were to knit one at a time, I’d be setting myself up for frustration/incompatible gauge. Pairing of moss and sand stitches is very complementary. I’m with Meg on this one…I do like things asymmetrical in variegated yarn.

    I could easier be wrong but don’t feel keeping track of different stitch patterns was your issue, Anne. If it isn’t speaking to you now, it probably won’t be as it grows. I am saying this because you know Meg’s dyed yarn well enough to see what it will most likely become.

    Herbivore is such a fun shawl. It will be glorious in Dazzle. Someday when I am all caught up with my test knits and shop samples. I have a few of Stephen’s shawls to selfish-knit 😀 (Don’t hold your breathe LOL)

    Glad you picked up Ziprelaxagon, Anne! It is so much fun and I had a blast. Unfortunately, the pairing of medium weight and Size 00 needles gave me cramp on my hand and fingers. Strictly my bad…I so want to have something in Blue Moon STR to wear to this year’s Sock Summit. Now, I must take some time off beginning casting on its mate. I now am weary about the 2nd sock syndrome! YIKES. Nonetheless, I can’t wait to see yours finish and knowing you it will be awesome, pleasing, and filled with gorgeous colors 😀

    I look forward to reading yours in coming Knit and Crochet Blogging week, Anne. Now I must return to my needles. The mystery knit must be done tonight and be sent off to Portland before end of the day tomorrow!

  2. Lori says:

    i love the hexagonal socks — i haven’t tried modular knitting yet, maybe i should. i always love the look. the colors in that sock are among my favorite, and so yummy together. i’m gearing up for blog week too, and look forward to reading everyone’s responses!

  3. Laurie says:

    Oh, amazing projects! I’m trying to decide on the perfect yarn from my stash for a Herbivore. I’m not sure I’ve seen the Boomerang pattern before…your work is lovely, but I don’t know what it’s supposed to look like (must head off to Ravelry…). Love the hexagonal socks! And of course the colors…Meg is a genius, no two ways about it.

  4. Kirsten says:

    The sock is a feast of texture! Also I am fascinated with the foot. Everyone has these cool sock feet for photographing. Where did you get yours?

Leave a Reply

